Skip to content

LBL Meal 3: Square chips, sausage and baked beans

March 13, 2012

This is a great meal because it’s the epitomy of comfort food. It really takes me back to the school dinners I loved so much as a child.

Meal 3: Square chips, sausage and baked beans

250g  potatoes (or 2 medium potatos) = 7p

 (2.5kg of Sainsbury’s potatoes reduced to 65p)

85g of Sainbury’s value baked beans = 7p

1 Sainbury value sausage = 8p

Pinch of salt for seasoning = 1p

Total = 23p

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again. Sausages are great for when you are doing Live Below The Line! Usually you would need oil to try potatoes to make chips, but with the fat from the sausage there ishave no need for oil. Also, the saltyness from the sausages provided great flavour to the potatoes.

Here’s my tip to get the perfect Live Below The Line chips. Crispy on the outside, but soft on the inside.

  • Cut them into squares. They will cook faster and more evenly.
  • Microwave them. Give them a quick heat up in the microwave. This will help the chips soften.
  • Add a bit of water. Not loads, you don’t want to drown your chips, but you don’t want your chips to sticking to the pan either. This also helps to cook the potatoes and soften them up.
  • Cook your chips and sausages together. The fat from the sausages will make your chips nice and crispy on the outside.

I am so grateful for all the support everyone has given me while I’ve been Living Below The Line. I still have a long way to go to reach my target. So please keep up the support and help me raise £500 for such a worthwhile cause :)

Donate to me by following the link: http://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/bia

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

