Skip to content

Feeling inspired!

March 20, 2012

Last night I attended a Give What We Can event. It was truely inspirational and thought provoking. I am now considering things which I have never thought about before.

Mark Williamson, from Action For Happiness, was talking about how charitable giving not only increases the happiness and life satisfaction of others, but of ourselves also.

When we give to others it activates the areas of the brain associated with pleasure, social connection and trust. Altruistic behaviour releases endorphins in the brain and boosts happiness for us as well as the people we help. This might sound a little strange and scientific, but it’s so true! I think any mother out there will agree that they get a burst of happiness when they see their child is happy.

Since I’ve been working with RESULTS UK and the Live Below The Line campaign I have felt happier than I have in a long time!

Another interesting point he brought up was how charitable giving can be contagious. Anyone seen the movie Pay It Forward?

I was skeptical at first, but just today I received a donation from a complete stranger. And after reading about my experience doing Live Below The Line he said was inspired to take part in the challenge in May!

I feel so inspired!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

