Skip to content

Cooking up a storm in the kitchen: Live Below The Line Recipe Book

March 27, 2012

I’m so happy and excited to say that RESULTS UK has teamed up with Lloyd Hayes – a very talented chef and graduate from Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant – to develop a RESULTS Live Below The Line Recipe Book. Lloyd, who has already leant a hand to the Live Below The Line campaign at our Celebrity Cook-Off, agreed to help me with this recipe book to show people how they can get the most out of the Live Below The Line challenge.

The reason I did the challenge early was to show people how they can do the challenge themselves. I made a fair attempt, but as you can see I wasn’t able to be that creative with my challenge. Mainly because I realised, I’m not a chef, so I don’t have the vision to look at a tin of kidney beans and visualise the hundreds of different meals you could create with it.

So after a lot of brainstorming we were finally able to go from paper-to-pan. Yesterday Lloyd and I were cooking up a storm in the Shoreditch Waterhouse kitchen preparing a feast of Live Below The Line meals. We did our own versions of some classic meals, including a Live Below The Line pea soup, (cheeseless) pizza and an (all bean) burger and chips… and much much more. All of which cost less that 50p each!

I have to admit, as much as I boast about being a dab hand in the kitchen, I was very intimidated about cooking in front of Lloyd. But he couldn’t have made me feel more relaxed in the kitchen (even after I charcoaled one of the sausages). He was very complementary of my cooking skills… though I have a sneeky suspicion he was just being nice.

Keep your eyes peeled for my next blog which will tell you how to get your hands on the RESULTS Live Below The Line Recipe Book.

I hope this recipe book encourages you all to take part in the Live Below The Line challenge for RESULTS. The money that you raise for RESULTS will support their work on ensuring that children with disabilities are no longer forgotten, that their voices are heard loud and clear, and that the governments of the world are making sure that disability is no obstacle to education.

You can sign up to the challenge or donate to support their amazing work by clicking on the links.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

