Skip to content

Why should we help the worlds poorest?

April 4, 2012

Why should we help the worlds poorest? I could give you are 1.4 billion reasons why we should. But I want to share with you my own personal reason.

The way I see it, life is a lottery. And I was lucky enough to be a winner. What I mean by this is that I could very easily have been born into an extremely different lifestyle. I could have been one of those millions you see on TV: starving. Dying. Trapped in a cycle of poverty with no hope of escaping it.

But… I was lucky enough to be born in the UK, with access to free health care and free education. A life of possibilities.

How different my life could have been.

Some say ‘out of sight out of mind.’ But I can’t help but think, if the roles were reversed, would I not hope that someone would help me?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Tina de Souza permalink

    What wise words and so true x

Leave a Reply

