Skip to content

Next month I’ll be living below the line once more…

March 21, 2013
This time last year I took part in a challenge to live below the poverty. It gave me the opportunity to peer into the lives of more than one billion people who live on £1 a day. What I got was just a glimpse into what it would be like to live in such conditions. To say that I understand would be wrong. But the experience it had a profound impact on the way I viewed poverty and hunger, and made me even more committed to the cause.
 
This year, I’m taking the challenge to raise awareness for undernutrition.
 
It’s simply not possible to eat good quality nutritious food on just £1. Undernutrition is the single largest killer of children globally. In 2012 alone, 2.6 million children died because they were undernourished. Today, around 200 million children are chronically malnourished (stunted) and many will have developed lifelong physical & mental impairments due to poor nutrition: keeping them in a cycle of poor health & poverty. This is despite there being enough food in the world to feed everyone 1 & half times over!
 
So I ask you to support me as I embark on this challenge again.
 
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

