Skip to content

I. Can’t. Run

January 28, 2014

Anyone who knows me knows I hate running / am awful at it… and am a general liability on my feet… so of course in a moment I can only refer to as PURE MADNESS I signed myself up for the Richmond Spring Riverside 10k Run! Why? For charity of course.

Why I don’t run…

There are a number of reasons I don’t run.

I’m lazy. There’s no two ways about it. I. Am. Lazy. If I was offered the choice I would always opt for the tube or the bus over the alternative… walking. Don’t even get me started on running. The only time I will run is if I am late for work and will miss the train. I’m ashamed to say it happens more often than not… I’m even more ashamed to say that after barely 200m I will be panting and out of breath. So I think it’s fair to say I’m pretty damn awful at running. Anyone who knows me can corroborate.

I’m clumsy. I have two left feet. Forget running… I have enough trouble walking without tripping over the pavement or – more often than not – my own two feet. As you can imagine… this also means I’m an absolutely horrendous dancer. Again… anyone who knows me can corroborate.

I’m self conscious. What I mean by that is… I run funny. At least I’m convinced I do. I’m convinced my running is similar to that of Miss Phoebe Buffay from FRIENDS. For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, please see the video below…

Why I am running…

I wanted to challenge myself. I think it’s fair to say this will probably be my most challenging fundraising activity I’ve ever attempted. I have never ran a race in my life. I would more likely starve myself for charity (I have in fact done that a few times for the Live Below the Line campaign). But I’ve never ran before.

So while 10k may not seem like much compared to a full marathon (which is over 4 times the distance I will be running) I know this will be a massive challenge for me.

Who I’m raising money for…

I decided to raise money for a charity called CLIC Sargent after a family I know found out their son had cancer. CLIC Sargent were amazing. They were there right from the start and have provided amazing support to the entire family, especially the parents.

CLIC Sargent is UK based cancer charity that supports children and young people, and families affected by cancer. They provide amazing support, both practically and emotionally, for families to help them cope with cancer and get the most out of life. This includes organising exciting trips to places like Legoland! As well supporting families to alleviate the financial burden by helping them apply for things like caregiver allowance.

If you would like to support my efforts as I run for this amazing charity please visit my JustGiving page: http://www.justgiving.com/Sabrina-de-Souza

From → Cancer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

